Missouri will now join over 30 other states that have legalized medical marijuana. Physicians will be able to prescribe medical marijuana for approved diseases and conditions.
Authorized patients will be able to grow up to six cannabis plants and their certified caregivers can grow up to 18 plants.
While many are now having second thoughts about their vote in favor of medical marijuana, the new Missouri law goes live this week.
The law will begin by allowing those with a numerous array of medical conditions like HIV and epilepsy and many other conditions, to obtain legal access to the drug.
By June 4th, the state health department needs to make applications available, so those seeking the drug have a document they you can present to a doctor and get signed.
No later than July 4th, they must start accepting applications.
Then they have 30 days to either issue you a patient card or reject your application. If the state goes to the last minute, and you jump on right away, you’re looking at August 3rd.
As one of three medical marijuana initiatives that were on the November 6th ballot, Amendment 2 was the only one of the three that voters approved. It passed overwhelmingly by a margin of nearly 3 to 1.
Medical marijuana is not expected to be available in Missouri through dispensaries into mid-2019. The Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services will have regulatory and licensing authority over the state’s medical marijuana industry.
Amendment 2 will include a 4% tax on medical marijuana. Proceeds will be administered by the Missouri Veterans Commission for the care of veterans in Missouri.
See our pre and post election reporting and analysis on Amendment 2 here:
A spokesman for the group that put this on the ballot says the amendment protects buyers from getting arrested for possession during that 30-day period, If you can show that you applied and are just waiting for an answer.
The state has broad authority for creating rules and regulations, but he says the yes or no on issuing a card should be pretty simple.
The form would have a doctor specify which condition qualifies a person for medical marijuana and sign it.
The only rejection would be if the person signing is not a state licensed physician such as a chiropractor or a nurse practitioner, then the applicant is rejected.