Home / News / Kansas News / ‘Happy Birthday, Kansas!’ Photo Contest winners receive prizes at Kansas State Capitol
photo contest
Maekenna Wyrick, Hoisington, "First Day of School," first place - 5th Grade

‘Happy Birthday, Kansas!’ Photo Contest winners receive prizes at Kansas State Capitol

Winners of the Happy Birthday, Kansas! Student Photo Contest received prizes on

Wednesday, January 29, 2020, in celebration of Kansas’ 159th birthday at the Kansas State Capitol.

Governor Laura Kelly presented awards to the winners from first through 12th grades. First place in each

grade receives an iPad and second place a Kindle. Marearl Denning, represented the legislative spouses

who sponsor the contest, now in its sixth year, in conjunction with the Kansas Historical Society.

The statewide contest invited students to shoot photographs based on the theme, Going to School in

Kansas, throughout the state in 2019. Photographs from the 24 winners will be on display online at kshs.org/18622.

These are the winners in the 2019 photo contest:


First grade:

First place: Winston James Alexander, “Painting Applies,” Lawrence

“Painting Apples”

Second place: Jarett Riley, “Anderson Hall,” Galva


Second grade:

First place Rebecca Barnhardt, “Arvonia School,” Lebo

Second place: Josie Beltz, “Cheering for the Home Team,” Galva


Third grade:

First place: Tanner Riley, “School in One Room,” Galva

Second place: Zoe Koon, “Enhanced Learning,” Overland Park


Fourth grade:

First place: Alyssa Babcock, “Waiting for the Bell,” Topeka

Second place: Faith McMannis, “Roxbury Remnants,” Canton


Fifth grade:

First place: Maekenna Wyrick, “First Day of School,” Hoisington

Second place: Lizzy Sturgeon, “Standing Beauty,” Topeka


Sixth grade:

First place: Addison Sibley, “Old Schoolhouse,” Topeka

Second place: Jack Eaton, “The Hard Truth,” Shawnee


Seventh grade:

First place: Kyle Christopher Miller, “Winter Sunrise at Drop-Off” Derby

Second place: Braxton Miller, “One Room School House,” Harveyville


Eighth grade:

First place: Abraham Hilbert, “Face-Off,” Seneca

Second place: Liam Alexander Bell, “Empty Entrance,” Leavenworth


Ninth grade:

First place: Elizabeth Singh Dhillon, “The Bells of St. Marys,” Saint Marys

Second place: Noah Behrends, “District 34,” Wellsville


10th grade:

First place: Alysson Wells, “Neon Night,” Columbus

Second place: John Michael Dill, “Scenery,” Bucklin


11th grade:

First place: Matthew Cunningham, “Graduation,” Graduation

Second place: Mariah Bailee Jo Stout, “Undefeated,” Bucklin


12th grade:

First place: Jamasen Nichols, “Escaping the Dark and Lonely,” Lehigh

“Escaping the Dark and Lonely”

Second place: Monica Costa, “Friends,” Galva


The Kansas Historical Society is located at 6425 SW 6th Avenue, Topeka KS.

You can reach them at 785-272-8681, ext. 262, or at www.kshs.org.

–Lee Hartman | Metro Voice


READ: Special exhibit on Kansas women opening at the Kansas Museum of History


Can You Help?

With events and churches cancelling services, the advertising that the Topeka Metro Voice relies on for support is drying up. For 14 years, Topeka Metro Voice has been a leader in the faith-based community. We have historically relied on advertising to fund the mission of our publication and sharing the Good News, as well as supporting local small businesses and community events. We are now seeking partners who want to support our publication and our mission of faith-based journalism and supporting the community and local small businesses.

Do you like what you read here? Help us continue our mission by supporting the Topeka Metro Voice in print and online for as little as $5. Every contribution counts, big or small. We sincerely thank you for your continued support and encouragement in these critical times.