Home / Education / Christian colleges in Kansas sign universal transfer agreement
christian enrollment colleges transfer
Traffic was brisk at the Midwest Christian College Expo in 2021. The 2022 event will be March 4.

Christian colleges in Kansas sign universal transfer agreement

Numerous Christian colleges in Kansas are among the schools signing an agreement allowing expanded transfer opportunities for students.

More than half of all Kansas college students attend one of the state’s 19 community colleges or one of the 20 independent institutions.  Under the agreement, to be signed Sept. 20, student transfer opportunities will expand after the Kansas Community Colleges and Kansas Independent Colleges formally sign a Global Transfer and Course Articulation Agreement.

The new partnership provides a pathway for students to seamlessly transfer from any Kansas Community College to all Kansas non-profit colleges or universities, including many Christian schools.

“Kansas leaders understand and hold strong to the quantitative proof that higher education leads to an improved quality of life for students, their families, and their communities,” stated Kansas Independent College Association in a press release. “A positive experience while in college in Kansas leads to more students living and working in Kansas, a benefit to the entire state.”

The Kansas Community College Trustees Association serves as the voice of the Kansas Community Colleges. The Kansas Independent College Association develops and enhances the competitive standing of its 20 member colleges by coordinating efforts including professional development and collaboration, governmental advocacy, and public engagement collectively aimed at supporting students and their success.

After the implementation of the agreement, any student awarded an Associate of Arts (A.A.) or Associate of Science (A.S.) from a Kansas Community College shall be deemed as having fulfilled the general education requirements of their choice of any Kansas Independent Institution. This consistent coordination and ease of transfer will help ensure students graduate on time, with less cost, and with the goal of keeping these students in Kansas.

Kansas City area schools joining the agreement include Mid-America Nazarene University, University of St. Mary, Ottawa University, and Baker University.

Other schools include Barclay College, Benedictine College, Bethany College, Bethel College, Central Christian College of Kansas, Cleveland Univesity, Donnelly College, Friends University, Hesston College, Kansas Wesleyan University, Manhattan Christian College, McPherson College, Newman University, Southwestern College, Sterling College, and Tabor College.

–Dwight Widaman | Metro Voice