Home / News / National / Obamacare plans will cover elective abortions in most states next year
obamacare abortions

Obamacare plans will cover elective abortions in most states next year

More than two-thirds of health plans on Obamacare exchanges will cover elective abortions in 2021, according to the pro-life Charlotte Lozier Institute,

“Due to the former Obama administration’s severe lack of transparency regarding abortion coverage, the American people are being forced, often unknowingly, to fund abortion through their federal taxes,” institute President Chuck Donovan said. “This violates both the principles of the Hyde Amendment and the deeply held moral beliefs of pro-life Americans everywhere.”

Obamacare, also known as the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, was passed in 2010 and went into effect in October 2013. The legislation required Americans who did not receive health insurance from their employers to purchase health insurance from a list of pre-approved plans covering several essential health benefits on a federal or state-based exchange.

Those who could not afford to buy health insurance and were not already covered under Medicaid received taxpayer-subsidized insurance. While the provision of the law requiring Americans who decided not to buy health insurance to pay a penalty has been abolished, most of Obamacare remains in effect.

Although a majority of states do not have health-care plans that cover elective abortion, people who live in those states are still subsidizing abortion on demand in plans in other states through federal tax payments. In 2020, approximately 2.4 million people received $13 billion in taxpayer money in advanceable premium tax credits for health-care plans that cover elective abortion in states that have not opted out of abortion coverage.

Currently, the states of Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia and Wisconsin each has a law on the books that ensures that abortion is not covered in any of the Obamacare exchanges. The remaining states do not have such a law.

–Alan Goforth | Metro Voice